Imaging accreditation protocol - Chapter 14, 2022 UnitedHealthcare Administrative Guide

The Imaging Accreditation Protocol promotes compliance with nationally recognized quality and safety standards.

Accreditation is required for the following Advanced Imaging Studies:

  • CT scan
  • Echocardiography
  • MRI
  • Nuclear Medicine / Cardiology
  • PET scan

If you fail to obtain accreditation, your reimbursement may be affected. We may do an administrative claim reimbursement reduction for global and technical service claims.

Additional information on this protocol and the required accreditation agencies is on > Imaging Accreditation.