Imaging Accreditation

UnitedHealthcare is committed to ensuring that all of our members have access to quality health care, including medical imaging services.

We believe patients deserve assurance that equipment, technologists and physician practices are in compliance with professional society-developed performance standards for CT, MRI, PET, nuclear medicine/cardiology and echocardiography procedures (collectively referred to as "Advanced Imaging Studies").

If you perform Advanced Imaging Studies and bill on a Form CMS 1500, or the electronic equivalent, you must obtain accreditation from one of the accrediting agencies listed below.

Accreditation is required for the following Advanced Imaging Studies:

  • CT scan
  • Echocardiography 
  • MRI
  • Nuclear Medicine / Cardiology
  • PET scan

What You Can Expect

The Imaging Accreditation requirement applies to global and technical service claims.

  • The accreditation process can take up to 9 months to complete.
  • Accreditation requires submitting an application and fulfilling accreditation standards.

Pursuant to UnitedHealthcare's Imaging Accreditation Program, we require accreditation for Advanced Imaging Studies.

At this time, however, UnitedHealthcare will not require accreditation as a condition of eligibility for reimbursement, and therefore will not administratively deny claims for Advanced Imaging Studies based on lack of accreditation. When a decision is made to activate the claim denial component of the Imaging Accreditation Program, we will communicate the effective date to you.

UnitedHealthcare remains committed to advancing the quality and safety of imaging services through the Imaging Accreditation Program and will keep you apprised of any changes to our program.