What is a taxonomy code?

April 2024

A taxonomy code is a unique 10-character code that designates the practice and provider type, classification and area of specialization as determined by the National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 

You also use the taxonomy code when applying for a National Provider Identifier (NPI). View the list of these designations based on taxonomy code.

Taxonomy code example

Screen capture of taxonomy code example

Can I edit these fields or change them if they are blank?

No. You’re unable to change these 3 fields because they’re static and are determined by your taxonomy code. Not all fields will be populated, as some taxonomy codes don’t have designated groups, classifications or specializations.

How do I change my taxonomy code designations if they don’t seem correct?

The taxonomy code entered in our system is what was provided to us on your credentialing application and is what you used when applying for your NPI.

If you feel your taxonomy code and subsequent designations are incorrect, please visit the NPPES FAQ. If your taxonomy code has changed, please notify us of that updated taxonomy code by emailing us at